Seattle Freeze stuff

1 04 2008

Before we even moved to Seattle back in Nov of 2005, a few people in Chicago asked me about the subject of the Seattle Freeze, and since I’ve lived here, loads of the folks I meet still do. They usually ask about my personal experience with it, so I have decided to share the following email from a new friend and concerned long-time Seattleite.

She was right….I found these articles and comments very interesting indeed, and am now sending these links out the same way I occasionally send out the link to the Business 2.0 article about LinkedIn from Feb 07 that mentions (or I should say cautions against) promiscuous linking/linkers. Please feel free to share these with some of the baffled people you encounter as well. Anti-freezers unite!

Here is the link to the story on Seattle (N)ice that I was mentioning. My old neighbor was Jodi O’Brien from Seattle U, quoted in the article. You are right that the best and correct phrase is Seattle freeze…I guess I have been saying ice because I remembered the title of the article. Anyway, here it is – this is from the Seattle Times / Pacific Magazine in Feb. 2005.

http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=pacific-pnice13&date=20050213

Here also are some reader reactions to the story, and another (older) story in the same vein. Just thought these were interesting and wanted to pass them along.

http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=2346986&date=19960901

http://archives.seattletimes.nwsource.com/cgi-bin/texis.cgi/web/vortex/display?slug=pacificpletters13&date=20050313

Update:

Also received this link to a YouTube video on the topic.  Is it all attributable to the “season(al) affective disorder” or tech culture dominance? You decide. Then I stumbled upon this freeze mention from the editor at Xconomy Seattle last summer.  I wonder if he’ll have more to say on the freeze topic come this July?

Another update from 2010: Oh, its real all right!


Actions

Information